*Designer Review* Greene Concept Furniture

Standard

I had a few review copies sent to me about 2 weeks ago from Ivanova Shostakovich and Peter Stindberg of Greene Concept Furniture. I went ahead and popped into their shop, too, to see what I could see – the inventory is limited at this point to just the two pieces below, but there are quite a lot of textures available for each piece, so I’d say it’s worth a look.

The first piece is the Berliner Stool. Ivanova and Peter also tout it as a ‘sofa without backrest’. I could see it used as seating alone, or even as an overly large ottoman with a coordinating chair or sofa. It’s only 4 prims, which is great, and seats 4 people. From what I could tell in the store, the price of the Berliner varies depending on the fabric you choose: I saw $700L and $250L options – denim, cotton, suede, and a few more.

The other piece is the San Jose Bench. I do like the shape of this; it’s a bit different without being TOO different. As with the Berliner, the San Jose is available in a multitude of fabrics, which seem to be split into either $800L or $300L options. The piece is only 7 prims — again, awesome — and seats 5 avatars.

The textures are good quality — the tufting on the San Jose is really nice and very realistic, a well as the piping around the edge of some of the Berliner texture options. I also really like how the available textures are displayed. 🙂 Dear readers, you know I’m a sucker for a clever display!

Ivanova and Peter are advertising these pieces as ideal for lounges, offices, exhibition spaces, as well as private homes. I definitely agree – I really like the idea of the San Jose as the new conference table – it would be great in a setting for discussion forums or SL learning…I also think it would be a unique seating option for larger clothing/shoe stores. Possibilities abound. 😉

Thanks to Ivanova and Peter for sharing. Get over to Greene Concept and try ’em out!

3 responses »

  1. Thank you very much for this review, Elle. The pricing difference is actually between copy/no-trans and no-copy/trans items (all items are modifyable). The San Jose’s are 350 as transferable and 800 as copyable items – the Berlin’s go at 250 for trans and 700 for copy.

    Only yesterday we finished the “fat packs” for San Jose, where you can chose any available design via a menu. Those go at 800 for transfr and 1000 for copyable.

    We have a lot of items in the pipeline, and rather go for quality instead of mass, so stay tuned.

    Thanks again!

  2. I really like the design of the San Jose as it fits a good amount of people in a rather intimate way, but doesn’t take up as much space as say two couches and a chair, or a couch and two chairs. I’d say it was ideal seating for a smaller house if you want to maximize seating and are limited by prim counts as well.

    I can also see it fitting well into an awkwardly shaped room.

Leave a Reply

