A review and maybe some good advice: Never Trust A Pikey

Standard

Ohhi! I’m way behind on reviews. Surprise.

Andi Bovarro of [Never Trust A Pikey!] sent me a review folder last month which I’ve finally had a chance to check out. First I checked out La Vie – this is actually a little village, all self contained. It’s got a rustic french feel, something that I’ve seen pop up frequently in recent builds. It’s a really nice idea for shops.

La Vie Village includes three separate shop spaces, all fairly large. I do like the concept, and La Vie is fairly well built; as always, I would really like to see a lot more depth and shading in the textures. I enjoy the 3d touches of the sculpted ivy, and there’s a nice shadow with those:

…but the rest of the textures are pretty flat. I’d like to see a bit more architectural interest in the shops, too, and I would definitely prefer more substantial stairs.

Understanding, though, that I am supersupersuper picky when it comes to textures and details, I think La Vie would be a nice option for someone looking for a ready-made shopping village, especially if you’re working with a sky parcel. Also, it’s mod, so you can always change out the textures if you want to add some depth.

I also got to check out two of [NTAP]’s skyboxes. These are nice basic builds, well-suited for studio or work spaces, or for those with smaller prim allowances who just want a cute little space to decorate. First is the She’s Not There skybox:

I like the little courtyard that’s included; it would be a cute little garden area. The skybox comes with or without the song lyrics sprinkled around the walls – I used the lyrics version since this is one of my favorite songs from back in the day. ♥

Next is the Paint It Black skybox — another of my favorite songs. I really like the paint job in this one – it’s all grungy and punk rock-ish and whatnot. Even better, Andi is offering this skybox as a freebie – it’s a great grab if you’re looking for a funky hideaway!

Check out Never Trust A Pikey right here: [SLurl]

Leave a Reply

